I’m a libertarian urbanist, and I care about…

Posted on October 28, 2012

0


Election season is upon us so it’s time to transcribe some stereotypical partisan voices in my head.

I’m a Libertarian urbanist and I care about job creation, that national debt, the role of government, and energy and the environment.

JOB CREATION

My friends and I started an online marketing business and then published a book about our services. You would be amazed at how difficult it was! Not the business, but the government paperwork! I want to see more Americans working and earning wages, and that means removing bureaucratic handcuffs to encourage more people to pursue individual dreams. In this economy, more people are looking for ways to freelance or create small business niches. I want my candidate to promote jobs that support and enhance local communities, not jobs that exist to suck the will to live from entrepreneurs in my community.

ROLE OF GOVERNMENT

The federal government is bloated and inefficient. And when it does act, it often overreaches in ways that harms communities. I hear rhetoric about America’s crumbling infrastructure, but I haven’t had any trouble making long distance trips due to collapsed bridges or gaps in highways. My region feels obligated to spend “free” federal money by expanding highways and razing green space in order to meet the requirements of government programs. After decades of invasive projects catered to special interest groups, my friends don’t trust the federal government to make good decisions. I want a candidate focused on initiatives that use local funding deliver the most bang for the buck.

ENERGY AND THE ENVIRONMENT

Like most of the people in my neighborhood, driving alone to work is the only practical option. Our local bus service doesn’t have logical routes to connect residential areas to the business centers. I want to see a candidate who wants the government to get out of the bus business and promote privatization. A private company would want to make a profit, so the service would reflect the needs of my community. I’m pretty sure the bus stops would be safe and inviting to encourage higher ridership. Imagine how much we could reduce traffic jams and car pollution, especially in bigger towns and cities. I want my candidate to think about smarter, more efficient ways for people to move around and connect with each other.

SO WHAT?

History has shown that the major parties are excellent at disappointing passionate urbanist voters. Maybe there are more commonalities among urbanists than some might think.

Posted in: Events, Opinion