bad streets for bicycling

Posted on August 20, 2012

0


The photo contest hosted by @EllyBlue at Taking the Lane has wrapped. Should I be thrilled or embarrassed that I won? I’m not going to waste my time with introspection. I’m going to give my award reception speech. Ahem…

Thank you, thank you. I would first like to thank the bicycling academy. I now graciously accept the award for best worst photograph of a street that meets or exceeds nationally recognized design standards but also functions as a hostile environment to bicyclists. While some of the voices in my head advocate for engineering judgment and common sense in the world of transportation design, other voices remind me that contests are fun to win. And if there weren’t any bad streets for bicycling, I may have never encountered the unique Ms. Elly Blue. And I wouldn’t have won. Which is basically losing, right? And I don’t want to lose. Well, I promised the passengers in my car that I’d keep this speech short because the traffic light is about to turn green and it’s not easy eating a piping hot hamburger and fries while driving past cyclists. Again, thank you for the honor of participating.

Bad for Bikes 1

Posted in: Photos + Videos